DIY/Crafts

My Halloween Costume


I’m a little bit late with this post (I really should plan better and schedule posts in future), but I’m showing it anyway because I put a lot of effort into it.

I usually don’t do much for Halloween. I guess it’s not that big here in Ireland, compared to the States. We don’t get kids trick-or-treating at our house as there’s no small kids living near by, so sometimes we don’t bother putting out any decorations. Nobody ever has Halloween parties. There’s never any good movies to watch. And I certainly don’t dress up! Halloween is more or less a non event around here.

But this year I decided I wasn’t going to sit around bored. I carved a pumpkin, in true Disney style of course. You may have seen it if you’re following me on Instagram. I made toffee apples. I watched my favourite Halloween DVDs. And I decided to dress up. “As what?”, I hear you ask. Well I’ll tell you. I picked the title character from one of my favourite Halloween movies, Tim Burton’s The Corpse Bride!

I thought it would be easy peasy, just get some blue paint, find an old wedding dress in a charity shop and muck it up a bit, and make the bouquet and head-dress myself (being a florist comes in handy sometimes eh?). Of course nothing ever goes to plan however, and I had a bit of a job finding blue body paint in our little town. Online shipping costs from eBay and amazon were RIDICULOUS, so they were out. But I was delighted to EVENTUALLY find some in the terrific arts and crafts shop, Vibes & Scribes. Silly me, I should have tried there first day. Live and learn people.

2013-10-30 15.17.13

Moving onto the dress. I scoured all the charity shops in town, but couldn’t find ANYTHING suitable in any of them. So I was forced to get creative. Remember that cute white lace dress I got on sale in Penny’s for €7? Well, I was a tad lazy when I was washing it, and didn’t put it in an all-white-wash. It’s no longer white. Another lesson learned there folks. With this as my base, I cut up an old bed sheet, partially sewed it on, took out my shoe polish and got to work. I drew on a couple of little swirls with a black marker too, and a  few hours later, it was pretty much done!

photo 2photo 3-1photo 1

^^Here I am mid-way through the transformation!^^

photo 4

^^Louie and Frankie were very interested in my costume!^^

photo 5photo 1-1

I was happy with how it turned out. In fact, I even won a prize for the best female costume at the party I went to! It really was a lot of fun seeing it all come together. I hope I didn’t scare you guys too much :P

Did you dress up for Halloween? I’d love to hear as what if you did!

Leave a Reply

