Art / Getting To Know Me

Let’s Get Creative


For the past couple of months I have been thinking about how much I would really like to do some art again. It’s been about a year since I’ve done any drawing at all and I have really missed it. Art was always my favourite subject in school but we only had about 2 classes a week. My favourite craft in art class was batik. Usually it was just me and 1 other person who chose to do batik. It involves using wax and dyes to create a design on fabric. It can be a long process, as the fabric must be completely dry before you dip it in another colour; I spent many hours holding a hair dryer over my batik! Over the weekend, I finally bought all the equipment necessary to start doing batik from home; a melting pot for the wax (the most expensive part but at least it’s a once off purchase), a tjanting (this is like a pen for the melted wax to draw your design), wax, dye and some cotton. Now all I need is a wooden frame to stretch my canvas over and I’m good to go! I’m hoping my dad, who is a carpenter, will make this up for me so I don’t have to buy one. I cleared out the spare bedroom which was never used, and I’m going to make it into my little studio. I’m so excited to be getting creative again!

Now all I need is some ideas for the subject matter. I have one or two at the moment, but does anyone have any suggestions? :)

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get Creative

Leave a Reply

